Florida Automobile Accident Law: Knowledge is Power
The laws of Florida discuss many requirements and limitations available to someone that is involved in a car accident. It is important to be aware of this information if you are looking for an attorney to handle your case.
The statute of limitations for personal injury cases in Florida is traditionally four (4) years from the date of the accident. In some circumstances it can be less. It is important to seek legal representation sooner rather than later so that an attorney has enough time to obtain the information necessary to handle your case.
Florida Auto Insurance Law
According to Florida’s current car insurance laws, each insurance company must offer personal insurance protection (PIP) to its insured which provides medical benefits, lost wage benefits and/or death benefits when a car accident occurs. This is a benefit provided to you by your own insurance company and can be helpful in getting immediate relief while the case is pending.
The benefit provides an 80% reimbursement of reasonable medical benefits. It is necessary for you to seek treatment within the first 14 days after the accident in order to use this benefit for medical expense reimbursement and other requirements apply. There are many specific requirements to utilizing this benefit. You should seek the advice of an auto accident attorney or your insurance agent as soon after an accident as possible to help make sure you get these benefits if you qualify.
Lost wages benefits for someone injured in a Florida car accidents are generally paid out every two weeks until the benefit is exhausted and will provide pay of 60% of gross earnings and loss of earning capacity. Again, there are limitations to this benefit and you should speak with an attorney or your insurance agent to insure you are getting entitled benefits.
The PIP policy affords a $5,000 death benefit for someone killed in a car crash. This amount is above the monies paid for lost wages and medical reimbursement.